MID-AMERICA REGULATORY CONFERENCE

MINUTES

July 22, 2019, Indianapolis, IN

Commissioner attendance was not recorded at the meeting.

Justin Tate	AR
Kim O'Guinn	AR
Ted Thomas	AR
Ethan Kimbrel	IL
Sadzi Oliva	IL
Carrie Salewski	IL
Brian Sheahan	IL
Maria Bocanegra	IL
Sarah Freeman	IN
Jim Huston	IN
Stefanie Krevda	IN
David Ober	IN
David Ziegner	IN
Geri Huser	IA
Richard Lozier	IA
Nick Wagner	IA
Susan Duffy	KS
Dwight Keen	KS
Shari Albrecht	KS
Sally Talberg	MI
Tremaine Phillips	MI
Daniel Scripps	MI
Katie Sieben	MN
Dan Lipschultz	MN
Matthew Schuerger	MN
John Tuma	MN

Valerie Means	MN
Maida Coleman	МО
Vacant	МО
William Kenney	МО
Scott Rupp	МО
Ryan Silvey	МО
Rod Johnson	NE
Crystal Rhoades	NE
Mary Ridder	NE
Tim Schram	NE
Dan Watermeier	NE
Randy Christmann	ND
Julie Fedorchak	ND
Brian Kroshus	ND
Bob Anthony	ОК
Todd Hiett	ОК
Dana Murphy	ОК
Gary Hanson	SD
Kristie Fiegen	SD
Chris Nelson	SD
Shelly Botkin	TX
Arthur D'Andrea	TX
DeAnn Walker	TX
Mike Huebsch	WI
Ellen Nowak	WI
Rebecca Valcq	WI

MARC



President

Daniel C. Scripps, MI

Vice President

Gary Hanson, SD

Treasurer

Sadzi Oliva, IL

Secretary

Katie Sieben, MN

Executive Committee

Ellen Nowak, WI

Arkansas • Illinois • Indiana

Iowa • Kansas • Michigan

Minnesota • Missouri • Nebraska

North Dakota • Oklahoma

South Dakota • Texas • Wisconsin

The meeting was called to order at 5:22PM by Vice President Gary Hanson.

1. Vice President Hanson

A. Welcome New Commissioners

The following new Commissioners were welcomed as members of MARC:

- Commissioner Maria Bocanegra (Illinois Commerce Commission)
- Commissioner Dan Scripps (Michigan Public Service Commission)
- Commissioner Becky Valq (Public Service Commission of Wisconsin)
- Chairman Carrie Zalewski (Illinois Commerce Commission)
- B. Vice President Hanson noted that the minutes of the February 11, 2019 meeting had been circulated electronically by Secretary Katie Sieben. Commissioner David Ziegner moved approval of the minutes of the February 11, 2019 meeting, seconded by Commissioner Kim O'Guinn. The motion passed.

2. Treasurer Oliva

A. Treasurer Sadzi Oliva presented a detailed Treasurer's report. Commissioner Nick Wagner clarified that the reason for the comparatively high balance was the fact that the MARC Annual Meeting was taking place in August 2019, as opposed to the usual June time. Commissioner Tim Schram moved approval of the Treasurer's report, seconded by Commissioner Sally Talberg. The motion passed.

3. Secretary Sieben

A. Chair Sieben did not attend NARUC.

4. Executive Commissioner Member Nowak

A. Commissioner Nowak did not provide a report.

5. Other Business

A. New Business

Designation of new President: Commissioner Norm Saari resigned his position of MARC President as he prepares to depart the Michigan Public Service Commission next month. The MARC bylaws provide that in the event of vacancy in the office of President, the Vice President shall become MARC President, and that further, should the Vice President decline to fulfill the duties of the presidency upon a vacancy of the President's term, the Executive Committee may appoint a commissioner from the President's home state to serve out the remainder of the term of the President.

Vice President Hanson declined to serve as President, and on behalf of the Executive Committee recommended appointment of Commissioner Dan Scripps of Michigan to serve as President through the MARC 2020 Annual Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Commissioner Bob Anthony seconded the recommendation, and the recommendation was approved.

B. Old Business

There was no old business.

6. Schedule of Next MARC Meetings

Annual MARC Meeting 2019

Date: August 11-14, 2019 Location: Hilton Des Moines Des Moines, IA

* Note: The MARC Board meeting will take place on Monday, November 18

MARC Commissioners Only Meeting

Date: January 9-11, 2020

Location: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Austin, TX

Annual MARC Meeting 2020

Date: June 21-24, 2020

Location: JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Grand Rapids, MI

Annual MARC Meeting 2021

Date: June 2021 Location: Black Hills, SD

7. Adjourn

Commissioner Daniel Hall motioned to adjourn the meeting at 6:00pm, seconded by Commissioner Sarah Freeman. The motion passed.