### MID-AMERICA REGULATORY CONFERENCE

# **MINUTES**

## August 7, 2023 | Grand Rapids, MI

### The following Commissioners attended the meeting:

|   | Doyle Webb         | AR |
|---|--------------------|----|
| * | Justin Tate        | AR |
| * | Katie Anderson     | AR |
| * | Michael Carrigan   | IL |
| * | Ann McCabe         | IL |
| * | Stacey Paradis     | IL |
| * | Conrad Reddick     | IL |
|   | Doug Scott         | IL |
| * | Wesley Bennett     | IN |
| * | Sarah Freeman      | IN |
|   | Jim Huston         | IN |
| * | David Veleta       | IN |
| * | David Ziegner      | IN |
| * | Joshua Byrnes      | IA |
|   | Erik Helland       | IA |
|   | Sarah Martz        | IA |
| * | Susan Duffy        | KS |
| * | Andrew French      | KS |
|   | Dwight Keen        | KS |
| * | Alessandra Carreon | MI |
| * | Katherine Peretick | MI |
| * | Dan Scripps        | MI |
|   | Valerie Means      | MN |
|   | Matthew Schuerger  | MN |
| * | Katie Sieben       | MN |
| * | Joseph Sullivan    | MN |
| * | John Tuma          | MN |

| * | Maida Coleman         | МО |
|---|-----------------------|----|
|   | Kayla Hahn            | МО |
|   | Jason Holsman         | МО |
|   | Glen Kolkmeyer        | МО |
|   | Scott Rupp            | МО |
| * | Eric Kamler           | NE |
|   | Christian Mirch       | NE |
|   | Tim Schram            | NE |
|   | Kevin Stocker         | NE |
| * | Dan Watermeier        | NE |
| * | Randy Christmann      | ND |
| * | Julie Fedorchak       | ND |
| * | Sheri Haugen-Hoffart  | ND |
| * | Bob Anthony           | ОК |
| * | Kim David             | ОК |
| * | Todd Hiett            | ОК |
|   | Kristie Fiegen        | SD |
| * | Gary Hanson           | SD |
| * | Chris Nelson          | SD |
|   | Lori Cobos            | TX |
|   | Jimmy Glotfelty       | TX |
|   | Kathleen Jackson      | TX |
|   | Will McAdams          | TX |
| * | Tyler Huebner         | WI |
| * | Summer Strand         | WI |
| * | Rebecca Cameron Valcq | WI |
|   |                       |    |
| _ |                       |    |

## MARC



**President**Dan Scripps, MI

Vice President Katie Sieben, MN

**Treasurer** Sarah Freeman, IN

**Secretary** Sheri Haugen-Hoffart, ND

Executive Committee Josh Byrnes, IA

Arkansas • Illinois • Indiana Iowa • Kansas • Michigan Minnesota • Missouri • Nebraska North Dakota • Oklahoma South Dakota • Texas • Wisconsin

<sup>\* -</sup> Attended In-person

#### 1. Call to Order and Welcoming of New Members

The meeting was called to order at 5:25PM Eastern Time by President Scripps with a quorum of member states present. President Scripps introduced three new commissioners:

- Alessandra Carreon-Michigan
- Kayla Hahn-Missouri
- Summer Strand-Wisconsin

# 2. Minutes from the July 17, 2023 Secretary's Report (Commissioner Haugen-Hoffart)

The minutes from the July 17, 2023, MARC Board Meetings were presented by Secretary Haugen-Hoffart and were approved by consent.

#### 3. Treasurer's Report (Commissioner Freeman)

The Treasurer's report was presented by Treasurer Freeman. Treasurer Freeman indicated there was no change in our financial status from last month.

Banking Transition

Commissioner Hiett informed the group they are working on finding the financial banking solution for us.

Part-Time Executive Director

Sarah Freeman indicated the committee meet and came up with several options for us to explore. We have requested information from regions on job duties and responsibilities along with salary amounts. Once we receive the information the committee will bring forth a recommendation. The appointed committee consists of Commissioner Freeman (IN) as Chair, Commissioner Anderson (AR), Commissioner McCabe (IL), Commissioner Haugen-Hoffart (ND) Commissioner Byrnes (IA) and Commissioner Sieben (MN).

#### 4. President's Report (Commissioner Scripps)

MARC Annual Meeting and Conference

President Scripps reported the MARC Annual Meeting and Conference had 114 speakers and 525 attendees. Once everything is finalized with the financials, Dan will give a final report to the committee.

#### 5. Vice President's Report (Commissioner Sieben)

Vice President Sieben discussed upcoming MARC meetings along with presenting each commissioner a flyer with the dates:

MARC Commissioners Only Summit

Date: January 11-13, 2024

Dallas, TX

Warwick Melrose - Dallas Hotel

MARC Annual Conference

Date: June 9-12, 2024

Minneapolis, MN

Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Katie presented a gift (Blanket) to President Dan Scripps for his determination and service to MARC.

#### 6. At-Large Executive Committee Member's Report (Commissioner Byrnes)

Josh Byrnes had nothing to report on.

#### 7. New Business

- Election of Officers: Nominating Committee presented the following slate of candidates.
  - President-Katie Sieben (MN)
  - Vice President-Sarah Freeman (IL)
  - Secretary-Katie Anderson (AR)
  - Treasurer-Sheri Haugen-Hoffart (ND)
  - Member at Large-Josh Byrnes (IA)
- Motion was made by John Tuma (MN) and second by Tyler Huebner (WI) to approve the candidates of officers. Motion carried and the officers were elected.
- The MARC Annual Conferences are in the planning stages for the following years and states: 2024- Minnesota, 2025 Illinois; 2026 Arkansas; and 2027 North Dakota.
- Next meeting will be on November 13<sup>th</sup> in LaQuinta, California.

#### 8. Adjourn

President Scripps adjourned the meeting at 5:58PM Eastern time.