MID-AMERICA REGULATORY CONFERENCE MARC Business Meeting Minutes

June 10, 2024, Minneapolis, MN

The following Commissioners attended the meeting:

х	Justin Tate	AR
	Doyle Webb	AR
х	Katie Anderson	AR
х	Doug Scott	IL
х	Michael Carrigan	IL
х	Ann McCabe	IL
х	Conrad Reddick	IL
х	Stacey Paradis	IL
х	Sarah Freeman	IN
	Jim Huston	IN
х	Wesley Bennett	IN
х	David Veleta	IN
	David Ziegner	IN
х	Erik Helland	IA
х	Josh Brynes	IA
х	Sarah Martz	IA
	Annie Kuether	KS
х	Dwight Keen	KS
х	Andrew French	KS
х	Katherine Peretick	MI
х	Alessandra Carreon	MI
	Daniel Scripps	MI
х	Katie Sieben	MN
х	Valerie Means	MN
х	Joe Sullivan	MN
х	Hwikwon Ham	MN
х	John Tuma	MN

х	Maida Coleman	MO
	Jason Holsman	MO
Х	Kayla Hahn	MO
	Scott Rupp	MO
	Glen Kolkmeyer	MO
	Christian Mirch	NE
	Tim Schram	NE
	Eric Kamler	NE
х	Kevin Stocker	NE
х	Dan Watermeier	NE
х	Randy Christmann	ND
	Julie Fedorchak	ND
х	Sheri Haugen-Hoffart	ND
х	Bob Anthony	ОК
х	Todd Hiett	ОК
	Kim David	ОК
	Gary Hanson	SD
х	Kristie Fiegen	SD
х	Chris Nelson	SD
	Kathleen Jackson	ТΧ
		ТΧ
	Lori Cobos	ТΧ
	Jimmy Glotfelty	ТΧ
х	Marcus Hawkins	WI
х	Summer Strand	WI
Х	Kristy Nieto	WI
	1	1



President Katie Sieben, MN

Vice President Sarah Freeman, IN

Treasurer Sheri Haugen-Hoffart, ND

Secretary Katie Anderson, AR

Executive Committee Josh Byrnes, IA

Arkansas • Illinois • Indiana Iowa • Kansas • Michigan Minnesota • Missouri • Nebraska North Dakota • Oklahoma South Dakota • Texas • Wisconsin The meeting was called to order at 5:03 PM by President Sieben.

1. President Sieben

- A. Introductions of new Commissioners and Carla Pope. President Sieben noted Carla's outstanding work so far. Carla gave a few remarks. Kristy Neito and Marcus Hawkins also gave a few remarks.
- B. Carla Pope provided a MN Conference report. There were 615 registrants.
- C. President Sieben raised the issue of increasing Carla's hours for the remainder of 2024. A motion was made to extend Carla's hours to 417 (\$25,000) for the remainder of 2024, and a voice vote was taken. There were no objections, and the motion passed.
- D. The slate of officers for the next year was proposed to the members. That selection was as follows:
 - a. President Sarah Freeman
 - b. VP Katie Anderson
 - c. Treasurer Sheri Haugen-Hoffart
 - d. Secretary Josh Brynes
 - e. Executive Committee Summer Strand and Kristie Fiegen

Host States:

- a. 2025 Indiana (Sarah Freeman)
- b. 2026 Wisconsin (Summer Strand)
- c. 2027 North Dakota (Sheri Haugen-Hoffart)
- d. 2028 Iowa (Josh Byrnes)
- e. 2029 South Dakota (Kristie Fiegen)

A motion to close the nominations was made by Commissioner Wes Bennett. A second was made by Commissioner Tuma. The motion to close the nominations and approve the slate of officers passed. Toward the end of the meeting, Commissioner Nelson raised the issue of the bylaws and whether they would allow for two executive committee members. VP Freeman recommended that the vote for the election of officers should stand and that any issue with the bylaws could be addressed at our next meeting at NARUC in July. No objections were raised.

2. Vice President Freeman

- A. VP Freeman noted that the Commissioner-Only Summit sign up would be forthcoming. The location for the meeting is OKC. There will be more to come on those meeting details.
- B. VP Freeman thanked Commissioner Bennett for the team's work with the banking issue (including Commissioners Hiett and Nelson). Commissioner Bennett reported that they would be issuing an RFP for banking services located within the MARC footprint. Interviews would be conducted via a remote process. The team would submit recommendations to the MARC members at NARUC in July.

3. Treasurer Haugen-Hoffart

A. Treasurer Haugen-Hoffart reported that Anteva and Carla review/audit each MARC bill. She reported a cash balance of \$395,873 as of March 31. The next treasurer report will be provided at the July meeting. Commissioner McCabe made a motion to approve the treasurer's report, and a second was made by Commissioner Coleman. The motion passed.

2. Secretary Anderson

 A. Secretary Anderson reported that the minutes from the February 2024 MARC Business Meeting were distributed prior to the meeting. No changes were suggested.
 Commissioner Tuma made a motion to approve the minutes, and a second was made by Commissioner Helland. The motion passed. The minutes will be posted to the MARC website.

3. Executive Commissioner Member Byrnes

A. None

4. Other Business

A. None

5. Schedule of Next MARC Meetings

- NARUC Summer Policy Summit | July 14-17, 2024
 MARC Mtg. 4:45PM-5:30PM | July 15, 2024 | Room 1
 Location: West Palm Beach FL
- NARUC Annual Meeting | November 11-13, 2024
 MARC Mtg. November 11, 2024 | Time & Room TBD Location: Anaheim, CA
- 2025 MARC Commissioners Only Summit | January 9-11, 2025 Location: Oklahoma City, OK
- 2025 MARC Annual Conference | June 22-25, 2025 Location: Indianapolis, IN
- 6. Adjourn Meeting was adjourned at 5:43 PM.